May 13, 2024

I went out to try to see the aurora over the weekend. I only saw a slight glow to the south. I am a little disappointed I didn't see more, but it's still the closest I've ever been to seeing aurora australis.
It was a clear night, and I saw a couple of shooting stars.




May 20, 2024

I tried to improve some elements of the site, which made them much, much worse at first. I think I have things working okay now. The code probably looks like a mess, I have no idea what I'm doing, I feel like I've been sticky-taping a broken vase back together.
The fun of learning a new skill is feeling clever and stupid, sometimes one after the other, sometimes both at the same time.

It's very quiet outside. I've been out walking my dog.
He wants to go for a lot of long walks at the moment. Maybe he's on a health kick. That's good, I want him to stay healthy and strong, because he's getting older. And it's good for me as well.





May 31, 2024

Today I planted some seeds. Spinach, red kale, parsnips, beetroot, rocket and kai-lan broccoli.
I want to have them sort of mixed together in the same areas, because I read that it makes it more difficult for cabbage whites to destroy everything if things they like to lay their eggs on are mixed with things that they don't like. It makes sense, and it's an easy thing to try.
I also planted peas. The seeds expired last year, but I hope some will come up.